The Algarve International Racecourse in Portimão, Portugal for the first time held a MotoGP race and is also the end of the special 2020 season with many challenges, as well as a series of surprises.

After Joan Mir was officially crowned in Valencia last weekend, the two new champions of the Moto2 and Moto3 format have been identified with two worthy names.

Raul Fernandez (Red Bull KTM) for the 3rd time in the last 5 races won the pole at Moto3. The Spanish driver maintained that advantage, accelerating from the first rounds and at one point led the chasing group to nearly 10 seconds. Since then, he has won his second and third podium in the final three races of the season to reach fourth place overall.

It seemed that Arenas would easily win the championship when Ogura and Arbolino had to struggle in the top middle battle without winning, but the decline in the decisive rounds made the championship only awarded when all the main character said on the finish line. After 3 wins of 5 podium in 14 races, the 24-year-old driver (finishing 12th this race) was crowned Moto3 2020 with only 4 points difference with Ogura and Arbolino (ranked 8th and 5th, respectively).

At Moto2, a similar scenario occurs, though Enea Bastianini is 14 points away from 2nd runner Sam Lowes. There were times when the direct distance from the race was down to 2 points when Luca Marini took the lead, and Bastianini fell to Saturday.

However, the # 33 handlebar calmed down and finished 5th, more than enough for him to part with the Moto2 mode with a final championship and confidently step up to MotoGP in 2021.

Remy Gardner got his first career Moto2 win after overcoming Marini in the penultimate round. And the steering wheel of the Sky VR46 can be somewhat comforted with its sixth podium of the year (the first time in five races) and the runner-up position this season. Lowes overcame the pain of his injury and excelled in third place and finished third.

Meanwhile, the race to close the season in MotoGP format is only procedural when Joan Mir (Suzuki) was crowned at the Valencia GP. The question remaining at the Algarve racecourse is whether we will see the 10th winner in the 2020 season, which will be the tournament’s new record.